Rainbow Bright*

25 May

It has been incredibly dreary & gloomy outside lately –Mother Nature, can you be a doll and change this?!- and on days like these all I want to do is hang out in some cozy ‘jams and snuggle on the couch all day. Unfortunately, my job doesn’t believe in “rain days” – I think it’s a perfectly acceptable reason to have a day off work … who can be productive when it’s dark and gloomy outside? Not me!– so I spent my lunch break entire day thinking of ways to brighten the day. I decided on one of my favorite creations… RAINBOW CAKE! This brightly colored cake doesn’t take much effort and brings instant joy

Ingredients

-2 boxes White Cake Mix
-Assorted food colors
-2 containers (12 ounces) fluffy white whipped frosting

Directions

-Follow directions on cake mix and create your batter.

-Separate your batter into the portions and add desired colored food coloring to each of the portions.

-Bake 40 to 45 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean or until cake springs back when touched lightly in center. Cool cake in pan on wire rack, about 1 hour.

-I try to first level each layer of cake with a large bread knife. If the layers are not level, then they will not evenly display when you cut into it.

-Bind each layer on top of each other with frosting.

-Cover cake with frosting and run the flat, straight edge of a knife around the edges of the cake to smooth out the frosting.

– Smile, you just made the happiest cake in the world!

This recipe is perfect for a 60′s theme party, an art-lover’s birthday, anytime you feel like brightening up the dessert table, or just to leave a jolly impression.

Yep, just the thought of this cake made me forget about the weather! SUCCESS!

xo, frillyfab

7 Responses to “Rainbow Bright*”

  1. Amanda October 11, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    This is amazing i am going to make it for my daughters 13th birthday its not till next year but i will need that amount of time to practice! but i wondered can you tell me what frosting it is, is it marshmellow frosting and also what colouring did you buy to get it that bright? xxxx :O)

    • frillyfabulous October 11, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

      Thanks so much! It’s much easier than it looks, promise! I used a classic vanilla frosting, but oh my goodness marshmallow frosting would be fantastic! Love that idea! I used Wilton 8 Icing color. You can find it it at any craft store, or even stores like Wal-Mart and Target.

      Best of luck! Your daughter will love it! Let me know how it turns out!

      xo, Cassandra

      • Amanda October 13, 2011 at 6:19 am #

        excellent i will send some photos once made but its not til next year in April. thank you very much for your help i can t wait to make it. xxx

      • Amanda April 15, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

        Hey i did it but this was my very first attempt i am very pleased with it but its a shame my marshmellow frosting wasnt very thick in between but hey ho it made everyone smile! thank you so much for your step by step guide xxx how can i send a photo over to you?

      • frillyfabulous April 16, 2012 at 8:25 am #

        Glad it came out nicely!! I’d love to see a picture! Feel free to email me one :)

  2. Emily May 28, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Hey frillyfabulous,

    I just wanted to let you know that I am currently in my kitchen making the rainbow cake! I am so excited to see how it turns out…although I am afraid it may not be as pretty as the picture! — Maybe I can send a picture for you to share when I’ve completed this FABULOUS cake!

    Ciao

    • frillyfabulous May 28, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

      Oh my goodness, that is so exciting! I myself and baking at the moment too .. MMM! … I’m sure youre cake is going to turn out beautifully, you cant go wrong :) I would LOVE to share your cake … send a picture my way once you’re done :) Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

