Hum With Delight After Each Bite

1 Jun

I was on Twitter this morning and I saw that Martha Stewart –my idol– was baking Hummingbird Cupcakes with Sophie and Katherine of DC Cupcakes. Wow, all of my favorite things packed into one show! I have a slight obsession with Martha –I one day hope to be her!– and I spend every Friday -don’t judge- watching DC Cupcakes with my sister. We’ve come to the conclusion that I’m Sophie and my sister is Katherine .. okay, I back to the point .. Ah yes, hummingbird cupcakes! Martha reminded me to share my Hummingbird cake recipe that I whipped up last week!

Last weekend for my aunt’s birthday, I wanted to create a cake that would appeal to all of the party guests. In my family it’s sometimes difficult to bake cakes because everyone has their favorites and none of them are the same. I decided on a Hummingbird cake, a cake similar to carrot cake, in hopes that it would please everyone’s sweet tooths. My motto these days is “the easier, the better” and with simple ingredients and only two bowls required, it truly fits the bill.

Because the cake is so rich, it should be served in smaller slices, which make it the perfect option for a birthday gathering.
Hummingbird cake one of my new favorite creations! The cake is also perfect for muffins for weekend guests! To add to the already delicious cake, I made a cream cheese frosting and pipped them to resemble a rose bouquet.

FrillyFabulous Hummingbird Cake Ingredients
-3 cups flour
-1 teaspoon baking soda
-1 teaspoon salt
-2 cups sugar
-3 large eggs, beaten
-1 cup canola oil
-1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
-1 (8 oz) can crushed pineapple
-1 cup chopped pecans
-2 cups ripe mashed bananas
-1 teaspoon salt

Directions
– Heat oven to 350 degrees.
-Combine flour, baking soda, salt, sugar and cinnamon in a large bowl. Add eggs and oil, stirring until dry ingredients are moistened.
-Stir in vanilla, pineapple, pecans and bananas. Pour batter into sprayed baking tray.
-Bake 25 minutes or until a tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean

Cream Cheese Frosting
– 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
-1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
-1 package (1 pound) confectioners’ sugar
-1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions
Beat together cream cheese and butter until light and fluffy. Add confectioners’ sugar and vanilla and beat until smooth.

Hummingbird cake was a success and everyone’s taste buds approved! With a name as lovely as hummingbird cake, how can you not love it?

xo, frillyfabulous

Leave a Reply

