Peachy Keen

20 Jun

The weekend turned out to be beautiful! I spent my entire weekend outdoors playing paddle ball, soaking up some sun at the beach, and relaxing in our pool. My kind of weekend! Although I planned on making s’mores brownies for my family to enjoy on Father’s Day, I remembered my Grandpa’s love for ice cream and knew I had to create something ice cream based.

Growing up, my best friend’s Grandma taught me to put my peaches in the microwave for a few seconds, allowing them to get warm, before biting into them. Since then, I’ve always eaten my peaches warm and with that in mind, I knew I had the perfect recipe for Father’s Day. With some assistance from L, I made cinnamon sugar grilled peaches and put over vanilla bean ice cream. Delicious and certainly summer appropriate! When in season, peaches are glorious on there own, but when added with a bit of cinnamon & sugar and ice cream … they only taste better. The light dusting of the cinnamon & sugar caramelize on the outside which perfectly compliments the soft, melt in your mouth center.

You’ll have to make this dessert next time you turn on the grill. You’ll be hooked after one bite! For a lighter version, grilled peaches are just as delicious when paired with a think vanilla or honey yogurt.

Ingredients
-4 ripe peaches
-2 tablespoons sugar
-1 tablespoon cinnamon
-1 tablespoon canola oil
-1/2 cup ice cream of your choice

Directions
-Rinse peaches and cut them in halves (removing the pit)
-Lightly brush with oil and place on grill (medium heat)
-Cook, cut side down, on a hot grill until fruit has grill marks, 3 to 4 minutes.
-Flip over and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar
-After about 4 minutes, move to indirect heat and let cinnamon and sugar caramelize
-Slice and put on top of ice cream

What a perfect weekend! How did you spend your weekend?

xo, FrillyFabulous

2 Responses to “Peachy Keen”

  1. My Journey With Candida June 20, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    I found you on Tori Spellings site and thought I would stop over and say hello!

    I never thought of grilling peaches, but they look wonderful.

    • frillyfabulous June 20, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, I love new visitors :) .. You’ll have to try the grilled peaches .. they’re wonderful! If you decide to try them, I’d love to hear what you think :)

Leave a Reply

