Fabulous Arnold Palmer Cupcakes*

30 Jun

One of my favorite summer time drinks is a classic Arnold Palmer, or simply a half lemonade, half iced tea concoction. It’s refreshing, tasty, and most of all fun to say! With 4th of July being known for outdoor picnics, the need for something refreshing to keep you cool is required. I decided that these Arnold Palmer cupcakes were an appropriate treat for the holiday weekend!

If you like Arnold Palmers (even if you don’t, these cupcakes will make you want an AP!), you’ll be in absolute ecstasy after just one bite. These fluffy, yet subtle flavored, cupcakes are nothing less then delicious and will certainly be a new summer picnic staple at my house!

Ingredients (Cupcakes)
-1 cup milk
-5 black tea bags
-1 cups unsalted butter
-2 cups sugar
-4 large eggs
-1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest
-1 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
-2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
-3/4 tablespoons baking powder
-3/4 teaspoons salt

Directions

-Over medium heat, heat milk until hot to touch. Place tea bags in milk, and let steep for 15-20 minutes. Remove tea bags and let milk cool

-In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Beat in eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Add 1/2 cup milk and tea mixture, lemon zest and lemon juice. Mix well.

-In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Gradually add dry mix into the wet ingredients.

-Bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 22 minutes

The recipe calls for a lemonade & iced tea frosting, and although that sounds delicious, I created my own unique frosting. For a simple (healthier too!) frosting, I used 1 cup of plain Greek yogurt, a splash of vanilla, and 1/2 cup of powered sugar … and oh my was it DELICIOUS! … Let me back track a little …truth be told, I attempted making the frosting the recipe calls for … but it didn’t turn out as expected … Being a little impatient and with The Voice about to start (yay, Javier!) I didn’t wait for my butter to set at room temperature, and if you’ve ever tried baking with cold butter, well it turns into a gritty mess. Not so pretty! After a frosting flop and not enough ingredients to make a new batch, I concocted my Greek yogurt frosting with things I always have stocked in my fridge/pantry. It was my first attempt at Arnold Palmer cupcakes and Greek yogurt frosting, and I can truthfully say that it’s my new favorite cupcake combination .. until next week that is ;).

With Greek yogurt being a little on the runnier side, my frosting came out a little more runny then I would have liked … but that’s what adds personality right!? Pretty frosting or not, this new recipe won me over! Yummers!


Let me know if you make these … especially if you make the proper frosting ;)

XO, FRILLYFABULOUS

One Response to “Fabulous Arnold Palmer Cupcakes*”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Indiana weekends. « Lucy's little world Blog - July 3, 2011

    […] Arnold Palmer Cupcakes* (frillyfabulous.com) […]

Leave a Reply

