Red, White, and Booze

2 Jul


After a day of laying in the sun, playing intense games of volleyball and corn hole, and grilling yummy meals my evening calls for a refreshing cocktail (after the fireworks that is!). Sure, there are those who believe any cocktail is refreshing and suitable for summer. And although they do have a point, some combinations of ingredients do quench your thirst better than others. When I think refreshing, I think of a cold fruity drink. Yum!

Although they are my favorite cocktails, mojitos and margaritas are so last summer. This summer why not raise the bar (no pun intended) and add sizzle to your 4th of July parties with these summer sips. Who doesn’t love the red, white, and blue, especially when it’s in the form of a cocktail? Keeping in-line with my patriotic theme, I created three cocktails that are sure to please any party goers thirst.

Escape the heat this holiday weekend with some of these refreshing cocktails. From the menu, décor, and even with my berry ice cubes, my patriotic theme party will be a hit this 4th of July!


THE BETSY ROSS
-2 parts Cherry Vodka
-1 part Ginger Ale
-Serve on the rocks


Yankee Doodle
-1 part Blue Vodka
-2 parts lemon-lime soda
-Serve on the rocks


The Patriot
-2 oz gin
-5 oz tonic water
-Lemon wedge for garnish

I’m off to spend my weekend in Newport, RI. I’m surprising boyfriend with a weekend filled of plenty of beach time, 13 mile cliff walks, and sunset cruises.

What are you doing this weekend?

2 Responses to “Red, White, and Booze”

  1. Lyn July 4, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    I’ll take a Yankee Doole Thank you!

Leave a Reply

