I scream, you scream … for cupcake cones!

20 Jul

If you’re having a birthday party in our family, these little gems will always make an appearance. They’ve earned a permanent spot on the dessert table … and I’m not complaining. Two of my cousins (8&12! Ah I can’t believe how old they are!) had a birthday party this weekend, so of course I had to whip up a batch. Delicious, brilliant, and surprising, these cupcakes impersonating ice cream cones are sure to delight! I was so excited to make these, a they’re one of my favorite creations. With yummy cake, sweet frosting, and a crunchy cone, what’s there not to be excited about? Oh, and sprinkles … Everything about sprinkles makes me excited. The best part? They’re practically mess free! And they’re not just for kids! When I was in college, two of my sorority sisters made them all the time … no matter your age, you’ll love these!

Note to self: Bake more things in a cone!

With this recipe you can have your cake and eat it’s holder too ….

Ingredients
-cake mix of you choice (For the first time in a long time, I used a box mix … dont tell!)
-flat bottom ice cream cones (I dipped mine in chocolate)
-frosting of your choice
-sprinkles (optional)

Directions
-Heat oven to 350 degree and make cake mix per directions on box
-Place cupcake liners in cupcake pan
-Fill cones about 1/2 to 3/4 full and place upside down onto cupcake liners
-Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until done.
-Cool on a wire rack. Let cool completely before frosting
-Frost cupcake resembling an ice cream cone

If you don’t want the sticky mess of ice cream, but still want something fun & delicious, you need to try these cupcake cones.

One Response to “I scream, you scream … for cupcake cones!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seven Link Challenge « frillyfabulous - August 20, 2011

    […] Most Popular Post: When posting these nostalgic ice cream cone cupcakes, I was hoping I’d bring everyone back to the age of 5 when these cupcakes were the highlight […]

Leave a Reply

