Ice Ice, Baby

31 Jul

You would think that being the energized morning bird that I am that the last thing I would crave in the morning is coffee. Nope, although I’m full of energy when I wake up, there’s nothing like enjoying a nice cup of joe to start off my morning. I know since I don’t necessarily need anymore energy, that I should probably stick to decaf coffee, but decaf just doesn’t seem right to me. I should have started this post off by confessing that I consume entirely too much caffeine a day … that is if you consider a 16 ounce cup of coffee in the morning, a red bull by lunch, crystal light with energy throughout the day, and a cup of coffee (or two) to top off my evening. That’s normal, right? You’d tell me if I had a problem, wouldn’t you!? …Good, I knew I could count on you guys. I’m betting that my daily caffenine intake probably is what makes me so lively in the morning.

Iced coffee is usually my go-to for my second coffee of the day. Unfortunately my bank account doesn’t support my caffeine addiction, so I was forced to come up with a DIY iced coffee recipe. And boy am I glad that I did, it’s simply divine. You don’t need to be a barista to make delicious coffee. In fact, once you make iced coffee at home and realize how easy it is and how much better it tastes, the idea of spending cash at a coffee shop each morning won’t even cross your mind.

Ingredients
-your favorite coffee grounds
-14 ounces sweetened condensed milk
-2 teaspoons vanilla
-dash of cinnamon

Directions
-brew a pot of your favorite coffee
-let your coffee cool down for a few hours
-mix in sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, and dash of cinnamon
-stir and let coffee chill for a few hours
-serve over ice in a mason jar (you know my obsession)

Boyfriend really liked it ....

I wish I could drink this recipe everyday … it’s that tasty. Unfortunately it’s not figure friendly, so I only “treat” myself to this drink on occasion and stick to my regular equal & skim milk concoction for everyday consumption. Fun tip: To solve this issue of watered down iced coffee, freeze your left over coffee in the morning and use those “coffee” cubes instead of ice.

Hope your Sunday is splendid!

xo, frillyfabulous

One Response to “Ice Ice, Baby”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin « frillyfabulous - September 17, 2011

    […] says Fall in my book!) I thought I’d share my favorite pumpkin coffee recipes. With my crazy caffeine addiction, the first thing I reach for this time of the year is a pumpkin coffee from Dunkin’ […]

Leave a Reply

