Summer Sippin’

18 Aug

*photo via bippity boppity boo

How delicious does the fruity little drink thats staring you in the eye look? With Fall slowly making it’s way in season, I found it only appropriate to kick off the end of summer with a refreshing cocktail. Nothing beats incorporating summers seasonal fruit into your meals … well, drinks, and nothing says summer like a watermelon does. I found this mojito recipe as while procrastinating on Pinterest. and knew you all would enjoy it! This drink screams refreshing and tastes nothing short of an adult version of a jolly rancher.

Ingredients
2 1/2 to 3 pounds watermelon flesh, pits removed
1/2 cup fresh lime juice
1/4 cup packed mint leaves, plus more for garnish
2 1/2 cups white rum
1/4 cup agave syrup

Directions
In a blender, puree watermelon, fresh lime juice and mint in batches until smooth. Strain into a pitcher. Mix in rum and syrup. Serve in glasses filled with ice and garnish with mint leaves.

With this drinks appealing coloring and refreshing feel, it definitely earns the title of my favorite summer cocktail. For a kid friendly drink, substitute the rum for soda water, and trust me, it’s just as tasty!

cheers, frillyfabulous

4 Responses to “Summer Sippin’”

  1. Colleen August 18, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    I love watermelon drinks in the summer! I only just discovered agave, but I have to say, this looks like an awesome way to use it up!

    By the way, I wanted to invite you to participate in the Seven Links Challenge (http://dragitthroughthegarden.wordpress.com/2011/08/18/seven-links-challenge/). I only just starting reading your blog, but everything looks awesome!

    • frillyfabulous August 19, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

      Agave is great! You can use it in so many different ways! … I’d love to participate in the Seven Links Challenge! What a lovely idea! Check back tomorrow for my Seven Link Challenge post!

  2. typefashion August 18, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    I have been loading up on juices since summer ! Every night I have been making fruit juices, going to true this ! I have 2 huge slices of water melon right now in my fridge :)

    • frillyfabulous August 19, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

      Its the perfect time for homemade juices! Let me know how it tastes!

Leave a Reply

