Autumn Mornings*

29 Sep

When the leaves start changing and the mornings get cooler, a warm and hearty breakfast is always how I like to start off my day. Growing up I would fill up on a warm, hearty bowl of oatmeal to help keep warm before heading to the bus stop. Although my taste buds have grown away from dinosaur egg oatmeal (do you remember that? Loved, loved, loved it as a kid!), oatmeal still places #1 one on my favorite breakfast foods list.

Eating the same breakfast every morning can become dull and archaic, so to keep things fresh and invigorating, I like to switch up my breakfast choices. What’s a girl without options?! I could never abandon my love for oatmeal, it’s been too good to me for far too long to rule it out completely from my breakfast options, so discovering baked oatmeal made me happier than a girl at the annual JCrew blowout sale (blog to come soon!).

Ingredients
-cups rolled oats
-2 Tablespoons granulated sugar
-1/4 cup packed light brown sugar, divided
-2 teaspoons baking powder
-1 3/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon, divided
-3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
-1/2 cup applesauce
-1/2 cup plain yogurt (low-fat is fine)
-1/2 cup whole milk
-1/4 cup safflower oil or 1/4 cup (4-ounces) unsalted butter, melted
-2 extra large eggs
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions
-Preheat the oven to 350ΒΊ F. Lightly grease an 8 x 8-inch baking pan or dish
-In a medium bowl, whisk together all wet ingredients
-In a separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients
-Pour the wet ingredients over the oat mixture and stir until completely combined.
-Pour the oatmeal into the prepared dish.
-Bake for 30-40 minutes

The best part? Baking this healthy breakfast the night before allows for a few more minutes cuddling under the covers in the morning.

xo, ff

(photo and recipe via The Gallery Gourmet)

Leave a Reply

