Domestic Violence Awareness Month*

2 Oct

As October marks Domestic Violence Awareness month, and to create awareness around my area, I wanted to create something special to share with the women and children at the local domestic violence shelter. In college, my sorority was very involved with the DV shelter nearby. Many of us spent countless hours babysitting and crafting with the children at the shelter, spending time with the women, and even organizing events for all of them to attend. I truly miss the women, children, and time spent volunteering at the shelter. Although they had been through hardships I could not even fathom, these women and children were some of the most endearing and admirable people I have ever met. The bonds and friendships that I was fortunate to make while volunteering at the shelter are close to my heart and I miss it dearly. With all the love and compassion that goes into baking, it is truly my way of showing someone my appreciation and love for them, so in honor of Domestic Violence month, I baked cupcakes to bring to the local DV shelter. Not knowing women’s tastes, I decided to stick with the classics … vanilla cake with cream cheese frosting. Who doesnt love the classic flavors!?

Ingredients (Cake)
-1/2 cup butter
-2 eggs
-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
– 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
-1 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
-1/2 cup milk

Directions
Cooking Instructions
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×9-inch pan or line a muffin pan with paper liners.
-In a medium bowl, cream together the sugar and butter. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour and baking powder, add to the creamed mixture and mix well. Finally stir in the milk until batter is smooth. Pour or spoon batter into the prepared pan.
-Bake for 30 to 40 minutes in the preheated oven. For cupcakes, bake 20 to 25 minutes. Cake is done when it springs back to the touch (or when a slightly golden color)

Ingredients (Frosting)
-2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
-1/2 cup butter, softened
-2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
-1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions
In a medium bowl, cream together the cream cheese and butter until creamy. Mix in the vanilla, then gradually stir in the confectioners’ sugar. Store in the refrigerator after use.

Although my frosting wasn’t cooperating and decided to melt, I know these cupcakes will bring a warming smile to the women and children’s faces.

5 Responses to “Domestic Violence Awareness Month*”

  1. Lyn Young October 2, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    You are such a sweetheart. I am very sure they appreciated you and your caring very much.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Purple Purse* « frillyfabulous - October 20, 2011

    […] sharing my experiences volunteering at the Domestic Violence shelter and my Domestic Violence awareness cupcakes, I’ve been getting many emails on different ways to raise awareness on the topic. While all […]

  2. DV Programs Spotlight: P.O.W.E.R.S. INC is have it’s First Annual DV Walk to Restore « Anti-Violence Advocate - October 5, 2011

    […] Domestic Violence Awareness Month* (frillyfabulous.com) […]

  3. Domestic Violence Awareness Month « Feminist Activism - October 3, 2011

    […] Domestic Violence Awareness Month* (frillyfabulous.com) […]

Leave a Reply

