Cupcakes for a Princess

1 Nov

My cousin’s first birthday was celebrated over the weekend and if you know me, then you know birthdays are not complete without cupcakes. I only had two hours to prepare for this princess themed bash, so using ingredients I already had in the house was key. I threw on my kid thinking cap, for I knew the party would be filled with all of my younger cousins, and came up with a very kid friendly (and quick!) cupcake. Devil’s food cupcakes with a marshmallow frosting! Kids love chocolate and marshmallows, right? Right!

Ingredients–Cupcake
-1 1/4 cups sugar
-1 cup buttermilk
-2/3 cup vegetable oil
-2 eggs
-1 teaspoon vanilla
-1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
-1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
-1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

Directions
-Preheat oven to 350Β°F & grease and flour two 8-inch-diameter cake pans
-Whisk first 5 ingredients in large bowl to blend.
-Sift in flour, cocoa and baking soda. Stir to combine.
-Fill cupcakes liners 2/3 of the way
-Bake until toothpick inserted into centers comes out clean, about 25 minutes.

Ingredients–Frosting
-1/2 cup vegetable shortening
-1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
-1 cup confectioners sugar
-1 1/3 cups Marshmallow Fluff
-1/4 teaspoon salt dissolved in 1 tablespoon of water
-1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
-3 tablespoons real maple syrup

Directions
-Combine your vegetable shortening, butter, confectioners sugar,maple syrup, and marshmallow fluff and beat on medium
-Add in salt and vanilla
-Beat on medium speed for 30 seconds or until light and fluffy

The birthday princess sure did enjoy these … and even saw some of the adults grabbing for one ;)

xo, frillyfabulous

4 Responses to “Cupcakes for a Princess”

  1. belleontheboulevard November 3, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    These cupcakes look delicious and as an adult, I’m sure if I was at the party, I’d to to take one or two.

  2. White Brick Wall November 1, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Yummilishuz! Love the finishing touches!

    p.s. I found your blog through the paper doll theory blog because you commented on the wine racks. Where did you get them? I would love to move my wine collection from my closet floor to the wall :]

    • frillyfabulous November 1, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      Thank you :) And thanks for stopping buy! I actually got them at Ikea for $9.99! Awesome deal :) If I’m not mistaken, I believe you can order them online if you don’t have an Ikea store near you.

      -Cassandra

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cupcakes | russellskitchen - November 8, 2011

    […] Cupcakes for a Princess (frillyfabulous.com) […]

Leave a Reply

