Be True To You*

3 Dec

On my way into work yesterday, I caught a segment on the radio that really touched me. A women who worked in palliative care called in to share some words of wisdom. She had often asked her patients about their lives and when asking her patients about any regrets they had or anything they would do differently in life, common themes surfaced.

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

This regret was the most common. It’s so easy to get caught up in your daily life, to not fulfill your dreams, or to live your life in order to make others happy. Honor your dreams. If you have to, make plans and schedule activities to make these dreams come true. Don’t live your life according to others, live the life that is true to you.

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

I know it can sometimes be difficult to take a day off or even to call in sick. Trust me, I get it, take it from the girl who gets anxiety over missing a day of work. Work should be something you enjoy. Work to live, don’t live to work.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

Expressing your feelings can be challenging. It’s so much easier to bottle up your emotions in order to keep peace with others or to not feel vulnerable. Share your feelings. Either you’ll obtain a healthier relationship with the individual or you’ll release an unheathly relationship from your life. Either way, you win.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

This is one that really touched me. After graduating and moving back home from college, it’s so easy to get wrapped up in your life at home, your new job, etc. that it’s hard to keep in touch with those that kept you sane for the past 4 years. I’ve mentioned this plenty of times before, but it stands true. Don’t let golden friendships slip by you. Make every effort to maintain those friendships. Give every friend the time and effort they deserve.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

Let yourself be truly happy. Break out of old habits and do things that truly bring a smile to your face. Don’t settle and don’t convince yourself your happy. Allow yourself to be truly happy.

xo, ff

3 Responses to “Be True To You*”

  1. emmyrho13 December 5, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    I really love this, thanks for sharing! I am a huge believer that we are all in control of our own happiness (for the most part) and remembering these simple things can help us all to achieve that!

    xo
    -Emmy

  2. belleontheboulevard December 4, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Each day we can work at becoming better, but in the end if we’re true to ourselves that’s all that really matters.

Leave a Reply

