Game Day Cupcakes*

30 Jan


Who’s excited for the Superbowl on Sunday? I know I am … mainly so I won’t have to hear about football for another few months ;). A friend of mine sent me this recipe he saw on Tosh.0 (how hilarious is he?!) and they were so odd that I knew I couldn’t let these little guys slip by me. Buffalo chicken and cupcakes? What a crazy combination! I know, you probably think I’ve completely lost it. Which I undoubtedly have, but these cupcakes … they’re no joke. I was really skeptical about them at first, and really didn’t expect them to be edible, but after sneaking a taste of the moist savory cake, I knew they would be a Super Bowl hit. The cake is savory, yet slightly sweet, similar to cornbread and is married perfectly with the creamy, ranch based frosting.

Ingredients — Cupcake
(Recipe adapted from Cupcake Project)
-1/2 cup hot sauce (I used Frank’s)
-1/4 cup unsalted butter
-1/2 cup ranch
-1 cup brown sugar
-1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons sour cream
-1 egg
-1 cup flour
-1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

Directions
-Preheat oven to 350 F.
-In a medium-sized saucepan on medium-high heat, heat hot sauce and butter until butter is melted.
-Add the ranch and mix periodically until blue cheese is melted.
-Remove from heat and mix in the sugar.
-In a small bowl, whisk together the sour cream and egg.
-Once the hot sauce mixture is cool enough to touch, mix the sour cream mixture into the hot sauce mixture.
-In another small bowl, mix together the flour and baking soda.
-Fold the flour mixture into the hot sauce mixture.
-Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full.
-Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Ingredients — Frosting
-1/4 cup ranch
-1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
-2 cups powdered sugar

Directions
-Mix ranch until smooth.
-Add the unsalted butter and mix on high speed until light and fluffy-
-Slowly mix in the powdered sugar until fully combined.
-Pipe onto cooled cupcakes

*Feel free to substitute the ranch for blue cheese

What team are you rooting for? I’m indifferent to both teams. I think I’d rather the Giants win though. Boyfriend, if you’re reading this, I’m totally kidding, I hate the Giants (he’s a childhood 49ners fan).

XO, FF

3 Responses to “Game Day Cupcakes*”

  1. lexi January 30, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    I for one love the idea of savory cupcakes, its a fun twist on the classic. At first glance I thought it was mashed potatoes as the topping, I’ve never heard of the cream cheese one, how inventive! These would be great finger food for the super bowl, thanks for the idea :)

  2. emmyrho13 January 30, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    If there are two things I love in this world, it’s buffalo chicken and cupcakes, never thought of them combined though…these seem very interesting and I would love to try one!

    XO
    Emmy

    • frillyfabulous January 30, 2012 at 11:32 am #

      I know, it sounds insane, trust me! But theyre really not bad because theyre not your typical sweet cupcake like you would think … much more savory!

Leave a Reply

