Hey, Hey, Hey Mickey!

21 Feb

Hey Mickey you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind, Hey Mickey! … yes? anybody? … Now that I’ve brought myself back to my embarrassing cheerleading days when that was the most popular song to have a routine to… Let’s pretend that didn’t happen and let me tell you about those Mickey Mouse cupcakes staring you in the eye.

After 22 days without a day off, a baking session was way overdue and very much needed. Luckily, the cutest one almost one year old I know was celebrating his first birthday over the weekend. To help ring in his 1st birthday, and to fill my baking void, I made Mickey Mouse cupcakes (nothing makes this boy smile quite like Mickey does).

As he’s only turning one, I kept things simple. Yellow cake + chocolate frosting. Can’t beat the classics right?

To assemble Mickey

– Bake cupcakes and allow to cool
– Frost cupcakes with a layer of frosting
– In a food processor, crush 2 rows of Oreo’s (keep one row uncrushed)
– Dip frosted cupcake in the cookie crumbs, making sure to cover all of the frosting
– Frost whole oreos and roll into crumbs
– Stick a toothpick in each whole oreo, and then into the cupcakes accordingly to resemble Mickey’s Ears

To help recreate Mickey, glue white buttons to the red cupcake liners. Unfortunately, I ran out of hot glue sticks, and regular glue just didn’t cut it, so I had to skip out on the buttons (trust me, I was devastated).

Happy Fat Tuesday!

XO, FF

4 Responses to “Hey, Hey, Hey Mickey!”

  1. belleontheboulevard February 29, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    These is adorable! My niece would love this!

  2. soanthro February 21, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Oh my god SO CUTE! The red cupcake liners are the perfect touch!

  3. lexi February 21, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I can’t believe how simple these are! They came out so great, I love em! You maybe even add a little bow if you wanted to turn them into minnie cupcakes ^^ happy fat tuesday! I plan on devouring any tasty sweet i can get my fingers on today ;D

    • frillyfabulous February 21, 2012 at 10:04 am #

      Ah Minnie would be too cute! … And I hear ya, I’m living up to the Fat Tuesday name ;)

Leave a Reply

